Sweat Equity (noun)- sustained effort; hard work

  • Join 5 other followers

  • Who I am….

    I'm a school teacher who has a passion for strength and conditioning. Over the years I have gained knowledge from the books, but more importantly through life experience and continued learning. My passion has turned into a side business. I see my responsibility as: 1. developing my trainees' strength throughout the whole body, not parts and pieces, both physically and mentally, and 2. to educate people on proper, effective exercise. If you train with me you will not get a cheerleader, but you will get somebody who will push and encourage you so that you will attain your goals. If you want to whine and not work hard, then find another trainer. It doesn't matter if you are a middle aged housewife or a college athlete-I can get you where you want to go, but only if you want it! If you are interested in training or nutritional counseling to achieve your goals, then please get in touch. Progress, not perfection! -Sweat Equity
    • 893 burpees

What’s the next step?

Posted by Sweat Equity on 03/26/2015

A lot of people seem to live their lives waiting. Waiting until they have this; waiting until they reach this point; waiting until… Now, there are those who decide and then begin doing, and I tip my hat to them for not being just a spectator of life. Don’t get me wrong, this is not about adopting a Pollyanna attitude in life. I know we all have responsibilities, but honestly check what your priorities are and make sure your actions would suggest the same thing to a stranger. If your health is near the top of your priority list, then stop waiting to eat right, exercise regularly, or take up an activity that you have always wanted to do. If it’s your kids, then, damn, step up-they are only for a little while; you get to work the rest of your life. I know individuals can come up with a plethora of excuses why they cannot “fill in the blank,” but I have better things to do with my time than to listen to that. Whatever your priority or passion is-put some feet to it and you will get there. I’m not suggesting that you will go from sedentary to marathon in a week, but start taking steps in that direction; sometimes baby steps and sometimes long strides; just make sure the steps are forward. Set realistic goals. Find someone who has experience in what you want to do, get started, and give it TIME! I’ll leave you with two quotes:

“The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting a different outcome!”

Anonymous

“Courage is resistance to fear, mastery of fear – not absence of fear”

Mark Twain

Progress, not perfection!

Leave a Reply

 
